Dear Washington D.C.

With all of the sadness of this week, I believe it’s ok to be sad, angry, post things, watch the news, etc., etc., etc.  But the only way we are going to truly end this is by taking action, so here it goes.  I encourage you all to do the same.

Dear Senators Webb and Warner,

I would like to start by saying thank you for being a voice for Virginia. It gives me hope that my two cents can be heard even if I’m not in Washington.

I am a Returned Peace Corps volunteer. I had an incredible experience, however have suffered greatly from Post Traumatic Stress Disorder related to the two years spent in Panama as a volunteer. Thankfully I am getting the help I need with the help of an incredibly loving mother in addition to being one of few “lucky” Americans with resources to go to doctors and pay for medications that would be unattainable for less fortunate people. I say this because I don’t know where I would be today if it weren’t for the help of a counselor.

That being said, I believe that problem lies in the United States healthcare system. Why does it cost so much to get the help one needs? As we see with Columbine, Atlanta during the Olympics, the Fort Worth, Texas army base, Virginia Tech, Aurora, and now the elementary school in Connecticut, it costs lives. So what is more important? High healthcare costs with a bone chilling high mass murder rate? Or cheaper way to access health care and saving lives not ONLY of victims but reaching out to these mentally ill perpetrators and their families. We all deserve to live freely, in both body AND Mind.

I realize you all are doing what are able as legislators. What more can we do as citizens to end of these occurrences?

Thank you for your time,

Kate Douglass

Leave a Reply

